Elected the new President of Bulgaria's Parliament - April 4, 2021

In the elections held in Bulgaria on April 4, Prime Minister Boyko Borisov's Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria (GERB) party sent 75, and popular entertainer Slavi Trifonov's There Is Such A People (ITN) party sent 51 deputies.

The Communist-origin pro-Russian Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) sent 43 deputies and the Movement for Rights and Freedoms (MRF), the majority of whose members were Turks, sent 30 deputies. After the elections, in the first session of the 45th People's Assembly, the deputies took the oath and elected the new Speaker of the Assembly. With 163 votes in favor and 75 abstentions, the National Assembly elected Iva Miteva-Rupcheva of "There Is Such a People" (ITN) as chair of the 45th National Assembly. Only GERB-UDF MPs abstained. The other candidate for parliament speaker was Tsveta Karayancheva from GERB, who received 75 votes in favor from GERB-UDF. All other MPs in the hall of the parliament and three who voted remotely were against her candidacy.

